Why I am writing Grandma’s book…

All of my life my grandmother shared amazing stories of her family, stories that stuck with me over the years. At last I convinced her to write them down, with the promise that I would help her to turn them into a book. After working together on the project for four years, speaking by phone every Sunday night, my grandmother died last summer, July 3, 2006. I spoke to her after her stroke and before she died, and I renewed my promise to complete our work. Though she is gone and this project is now mine alone, in my heart this will remain grandma’s book. It is an honor to help her complete what she started.

I started this blog in order to give myself a space to think through the writing and research issues that I am encountering. I hope to find other blogger/creative writers who will share their process as well. I am eager to find out what sorts of writing issues others encounter and how they deal with such issues, and I am looking forward to sharing what I learn as well.

I’m new to blogging, so please bear with me. If you post, I will try to get to your site a.s.a.p. and say howdy!

4 Responses

  1. Nice clean look for your blog. I look forward to your posts.

  2. Thanks, caveblogem. I like your blog — what a clever name … “Pretty Good on Paper.” Hope you enjoy my blog, too.

  3. This sounds like a very interesting project. I was just yesterday thinking about my Grandmother who passed away a couple years ago and the world isn’t quite the same without her. Anyhow, good luck with the book.

  4. You know, I’ve heard of the specialness of grandmothers from so many people. If there are family/friends still living whom you could interview about your grandmother, you should do it. Maybe one day you’ll decide to write about her life, and then you will have material. Your daughter may well be happy to hear of this woman who was so special to you.

Leave a Reply

