I’m not doing NaNo. So there.

Lately I’ve come across a lot of bloggers who are preparing to write the Great American Novel in the month of November. Lord love em. Good luck to y’all.

I’m not going to be writing the Great American Novel next month. In fact, I do not write fiction. I’m strictly a “creative non-fiction” kinda gal. Even my poetry is non-fiction. I have never been able to construct a believable fictional story in all my years of writing, and I have given up on that approach to writing. Besides, it isn’t really where my heart is anyway.

Still, I am a bit glum. After all, the fiction folks have so many aids for motivating them. Take, for instance, NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month). What a great motivator: you work steadily and intensely in response to a prescribed set of deadlines and guidelines. You get to be a part of an elite group πŸ™‚ and you can purchase a tee-shirt when you are done.

What is there of comparable motivational quality for us creative non-fiction writers?? What would creative non-fiction writers want…national memoir writing month–would that be in May? Autobiography August? Journalism July? I wonder how much time it would take to organize such a thing….

I’m not just procrastinating in writing today’s post, you know (though there is a bit of that, too). I’m honestly suffering from a bit of NaNo envy, as I think such an artificial deadline to prompt a burst of frenetic writing is exactly what I need during my increasingly rudderless sabbatical.

Anyone have any suggestions on how I can jumpstart my work again??

3 Responses

  1. Do NaNoWriMo, but write non-fiction. If you don’t want to write 50,000 words, just write 5,000. Basically, just write and write about it on your blog. We’ll make sure you keep with it πŸ™‚

  2. You are funny!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I actually tried NaNoWriMo about three years ago. I was hitting it hard up until day 8 or 9…until I got life in the way.

    I agree with strugglingwriter, give it a try and write non-fiction. Pretty much, you can write whatever you want.

    Otherwise, you can simply pick out your own deadline and write ’till you drop until that day. I know, I know, easier said than done…I’m working on my own demons here.

  3. strugglingwriter: Hmmm…I thought for NaNo that you have to start at the beginning and end at the end. My project is on-going. Wouldn’t that not really fit their parameters? I mean, isn’t that cheating? And in the end, I say, what? I wrote 50,000 words of a non-novel…. Of course, I could just start making up things about Grandma’s life πŸ™‚

    sheshewriter: Yeh, I can imagine that it gets difficult after a while to keep up with that pace. Life does intrude on us from time to time. “Mommy, I’m sick,” says my son last night and crawls into bed with me and I can feel his germs crawling over to my face and today I feel like I’m coming down with something so I have to make megadose vitamin C cranberry sauce to go with pork roast and where did my day go? Yup, that LIFE stuff can easily intrude. Still…perhaps you’re right and I ought to use NaNo for my own purposes… Thanks for the encouragement!

Leave a Reply

