No NaNo but maybe NaMemo…?

Okay, so I went to the National Novel Writing Month website and decided to check it out after being encouraged to do NaNo myself … even though I am not writing fiction…. Thanks for the suggestion, struggling writer and sheshewriter.

Here’s a quote from the NaNo site that epitomizes why I want to participate in something like this:

“National Novel Writing Month is a fun, seat-of-your-pants approach to novel writing. Participants begin writing November 1. The goal is to write a 175-page (50,000-word) novel by midnight, November 30. Valuing enthusiasm and perseverance over painstaking craft, NaNoWriMo is a novel-writing program for everyone who has thought fleetingly about writing a novel but has been scared away by the time and effort involved.”

I gave it some serious thought, but I really can’t just write my grandma’s memoir and pretend I am a real participant in NaNo. It wouldn’t motivate me becasue I can’t fool myself. HOWEVER…

My husband suggested that I write to the folks at NaNo and propose a National Memoir Writing Month. I hadn’t realized that they are engaged in a number of spin-off events. Check out their website, if you haven’t already, and you will see! So I have decided to try to convince these folks to add non-fiction to their selection of cool things people can do with words. My sense is that MANY people have also thought about writing a memoir — perhaps as many people as have thought of writing a novel (okay, that may be exaggerated!)

And you know how NaNo donates proceeds to libraries in Cambodia? Well, maybe NaMemo could donate proceeds to Alzheimer’s research…? I’m probably getting ahead of myself.

Anyway, I can’t seem to swing a dead cat without hitting some blog where they’re talking about doing NaNoWriMo, so I think I’ll see what can be done for us creative non-fiction writers! And for all you wrimos out there, good luck and have fun — lucky dogs!

2 Responses

  1. I hope you find something like NaNoWriMo to help motivate you. I haven’t been this excited to write in a while.

  2. Yeh, we shall see. When I registered to participate in a NaNo foru on creative non-fiction, I got an email that said that I was signed up for NaNo!!

Leave a Reply

