Double-digit birthday boy

Today my son turned ten. It’s a big deal.

Today I am celebrating a decade of motherhood. That’s a big deal.

I bought my son a fishing rod (Ugly Stick) and reel, and a comical shirt (“How come all of my shirts are boring, Mom?”) I also bought him some playdough because I know he’ll like it but would never ask for it and I want him to stay a kid a while longer. And I got him some books, of course, and some nail clippers. Odd gift, you say?? Ah, but for a while I have been telling him that when he turns ten, he can clip his own gosh darned nails, thankyee very much. πŸ™‚ And keeping with the double-DIGITS theme, I also got him new gloves and toe socks to keep all his DIGITS warm.

What did I get for myself to celebrate my decade of motherhood? Nothing. Instead ask what I gave up: 3 more pounds lost at today’s weigh-in. Awesome!

Tomorrow I have a story for you all about lefse making….

5 Responses

  1. I remember turning ten, I felt so important. I’m going to fall over when my kids get there.

  2. That is a big deal. Happy birthday to him.

    “I know he’ll like it but would never ask for it” – those are the best kind of presents

  3. Pluckymama, not sure when your kids will hit ten, but I imagine you’ll still be standing! Tirck is make em start doing dishes when they’re eight, bathrooms when they’re nine, and making their own beds and folding laundry a.s.a.p. (Yeh, I’m a slave driver!) Seriously, though, I have found that this parenting thing has gotten a little easier as I’ve been going along. Amazing how self-reliant our son has been able to become…not that he doesn’t still need Mommy!

    Strugglingwriter, thanks for stopping by. He DID like the playdough, though he positively freaked at the fishing pole. “Can we go fishing this weekend!!!???!!!”

  4. You mean I shouldn’t be making him doing the dishes at two?? πŸ˜‰

    I think first I need to train my husband to do those things and perhaps my boys will follow suit.

    I’m going to be a slave driver too.

  5. Hmmm, I don’t know…two doesn’t seem too young for putting sippy cups in the dishwasher, perhaps. Actually, I used to have my son clean the toilet bowl and the sink in the bathroom starting when he was about four. He thought he was playing! “I’m making a magic potion, Mommy!”

    You’re VERY right about training the husband, though. My son does dishes with Daddy now! They keep each other honest πŸ™‚

    Thanks for stopping by.

Leave a Reply

