More lefse suggestions, by request!

Folks keep searching my site looking for answers to additional lefse questions, so I thought that today I’d try to answer what I think searchers want to know.

On the topic of flour… I always use all-purpose, unbleached, white flour. Do not use self-rising flour! On occasion I have run out of my flour of choice midway through the process (yes, hard to believe) and used a little whole wheat flour for rolling. This is not ideal but can work. I’ve never tried using all whole wheat flour or other kinds of flour such as rice or barley, etc. I imagine you could use other types of flour, but you will want to follow the same guidelines I wrote about in earlier posts: do not use too much, do not overmix, dust off any excess flour.

Someone was looking for a flourless lefse recipe. I don’t think that’s possible, but if folks have a gluten allergy, try using gluten free flour. After all, when making lefse it’s important NOT to work it too much or mix when warm exactly because you do NOT want to activate the gluten. So I suspect that gluten-free flour would be a fine substitute. If someone tries this, please let me know!

As for the person asking how to moisten lefse for serving, well…. First off it’s important to make sure when you make it in the first place that you do not use too much flour or it will dry out quickly. Second, lefse does not stay delicious for long. Personally, I think you should eat it within two days. It should stay plenty moist during that time if you cover it with plastic wrap. Sometimes I pull from the bottom of the stack where the lefse stay the moistest. You can put it in the fridge, but then you will have to heat it up somehow or it’ll taste funny and be too stiff to rol up and eatl. I have warmed it before, but it’s tricky. What I did was spray a fine mist of water on a stack, wrap it in foil, and put it in a low oven for a little bit until they were the right temp. Generally, though, I just leave mine on a covered plate on the counter. One other option is to freeze some of the batch right away in a tightly seeled package. Eat the rest over the course of two days. Then when you need more, thaw the lefse on the countertop and let them warm up to room temp naturally. I have also microwaved lefse for a tiny amount of time, but you have to eat it fairly quickly if you do that because the process changes the consistency of the lefse upon cooling.

Hope this helps answer any burning questions you all have about lefse! Grandma would have gotten a real kick out of how many people are coming to my site looking for answers to lefse questions.

4 Responses

  1. I did a search on google for lefse, looking for pictures. It looks tasty!

    My favorite dish my grandmother made was called “stuffed grape leaves”, which is a Greek dish. It is basically grape leaves stuffed with a mix of ground beef and rice.

    *Sigh*

  2. Next time I make lefse, I’m going to try to include a vidoe clip. Might be beyond my technical capacity, but I’m gonna try!

  3. Among Dave’s mom’s belongings were her lefse-making equipment. No recipes, though. The first time I ate lefse was our “Not-a-Thanksgiving” dinner in December of 2006. His mom didn’t want us to get together for Thanksgiving that year, because we hadn’t for years, and with her being sick, I think it made her feel even more like it was her last Thanksgiving (and, it was). So, the whole family got together the following week, at her brother’s house, and along with the regular turkey dinner, he made lefse. It was a special treat for the Swedes who had grown up with it, and a new treat for me (though I’ve been part of this family for 16 years!). If I ever start cooking again (I simply quit after Owen died), I’ll have to find some lefse recipes, and bring back an old tradition of Dave’s family. I don’t even think his daughters have ever had it. I just hate losing family traditions!

  4. How interesting that your husband’s family did lefse, too. I posted a recipe (if you ever need it) on my blog on Nov. 19, ’07. What kind of equipment did she have? A good lefse turner is helpful…

Leave a Reply

