On Appreciating One’s Husband…

“I can handle it — no problem,” I told my husband when he asked if it’d be okay to head off to a conference for three days. I figured it’s easy enough for me to play “single mom” while my husband is away on a business trip. And everything IS fine here. But I am struck once more (as always happens in such cases) by how my husband provides so many intangible yet essential things in my life. Sure, I can manage the cooking, laundry, dishes, driving the kid around, and all that. Usually I do most of that stuff anyway. 🙂 But what I really miss is the companionship. My husband is a funny, intelligent, principled man, and I’m struck once more by how lucky I am to be married to the guy.

I’ve known my husband since I was a freshman in high school, and, no, we were not high school sweethearts. But we were good friends. It took me about seven years to realize my buddy was carrying a torch for me. (I was dense but he was shy, so it’s not all my fault.) Actually, it was when he pretty much gave up on me that I became interested. It was the marked absence of some intangible quality in our interactions that made me stop and wonder what was up. And then I realized that I felt something for this old pal that I had never really noticed before.

It took a while to convince him that I was actually interested in dating. He had, as I said, given up on me. But I was determined. A few years later, in 1990, we got married. That was one of the happiest days of my life. It’s so cliche, I know. But absolutely true. I remember as I walked down the aisle how I could’t stop grinning. I knew that this guy was the right match for me. I’d kissed a lot of toads, as they say, but here was my good friend right there beside me all along.

So easy to take our loved ones for granted, isn’t it? Don’t wait until they take a business trip to remember how much you appreciate what they bring to your life!

4 Responses

  1. Thanks for an inspiring piece of writing…just in time for Valentine’s!

  2. Thanks for stopping by! I just figured it was time I said something about that great guy of mine. 🙂

  3. This is so sweet, and after being together so long. Thanks for sharing. What a true love story. It’s so nice to have your hubby be your best friend. Hope he’s back home for Valentine’s Day.

  4. Hi, ladybeams — yup, he’s back safe and sound, and life is good!

Leave a Reply

