Dreaming of Grandma’s Teeth

I know I dreamt about Grandma last night. I awoke with the unmistakable feeling of her presence. But I can’t remember a thing about the dream. I hate that.

I mean, what’s the point of getting to see her if I can’t remember when I wake up? Ah, but it’s not as if I don’t have memories swirling about me during waking hours.

Perhaps…I saw her in my dream in her overstuffed recliner in the family room, and we rehashed our conversation about teeth. Once upon a time (for real), before I left town to head north for graduate school, we DID have such a conversation. It was then that I learned that she had not been to a dentist in quite some time. Hers had died, and she never replaced him.

I had a pretty good experience with my dentist at the time. I think the conversation might even have started because I had been to see him prior to my imminent departure. In any case, I suggested that Grandma go see him. “He’s very gentle and professional, Grandma. I’m sure he’ll do a great job for you!”

And she did go to him some months later. He complemented her on her fine teeth (she was in her 80s at the time and still had her own set of pearly whites). She replied, I’m sure, with the proud announcement of her Scandinavian heritage as the source of her strong teeth. Turns out she did need a bit of work, though. Her gums had receded and there were a few cavities. But he spaced treatment out over the course of a year and treated her with kid gloves. And she kept those teeth to her dying day. There they lay in her casket.

Wow. That sounds morbid.

It’s just that I was thinking about this blog and how I write about so many random things lately and not Grandma. Not her book. But then, life goes on. I have had life happening to me for months now! In any case, I was thinking before bed last night about my last post on my dental work and thinking, “This has absolutely no relation to Grandma.” And then, poof, up popped the image of Grandma in her chair and my dentist recommendation. So I’m thinking maybe I was dreaming about Grandma’s teeth…?

I don’t know. One thing’s for sure. All roads do seem to lead back to Grandma.

3 Responses

  1. πŸ™‚ Great post.

    Great story about your conversation with your grandma. It’s interesting how our thoughts during the day affect our dreams. “I awoke with the unmistakable feeling of her presence. But I can’t remember a thing about the dream. ” – this type of thing happens a lot to me.

    By the way, I went to the dentist last week and they amazingly didn’t find any cavities!

  2. The title of this post made me laugh out loud! πŸ™‚

  3. strugglingwriter – congrats on the hole-less set of teeth!

    Nancy — GOOD! I was hoping folks would laugh a bit… πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

