Happy Birthday to Me

Yesterday was my birthday. It was a good one overall. West-coast loved ones phoned. Mom sent me flowers, a rare luxury these days. My in-laws sent me a cool hand-crafted bracelet, bought at a jewelry shop in their cute little California town. And my husband. He presented me with the best gift I have ever received from him…

He MADE me a ring!

He started in March. That alone scores him big-time points. 🙂 Talk about planning ahead! But get this, he bought a silver quarter from my birth year (the last year the US gov’t made silver quarters, by the way). And then he pounded the edges until they flattened out. He even found one of my old rings and used it to size the ring correctly! The outside he polished smooth and shiny. The inside is smooth, but he left it so one can still read the “United States” inscription that was on the original quarter.

Turns out all those times when I was carting the kid around to soccer and cello, etc., he was tapping away in the basement, making me my birthday present. He even sanded down one of his weights to use as an anvil (he needed something flat and hard as iron, so what better substance than, well, iron!)

I gotta say, he’s given me some nice things in the past, but he’s never been much the romantic type. He’s worked pretty hard to get past that handicap, though, over the last few years. Not that he’s suddenly become a gushy type. No. But he seems to be able to show that he loves me in ways that far surpass the norm. This one tops all.

I’m one lucky duck!

14 Responses

  1. Amazing, amazing gift! What a treasure for you to cherish (the ring and the hubby). Hand-made gifts rule.

  2. Happy Birthday! Your birthday was yesterday? Mine is today!

    Your husband is a superhero! What a cool gift.

  3. Thanks, Lori and Paul. Yup. I treasure the super-hero husband I’ve got. He’s a keeper. 🙂

    Happy birthday, Paul! Have a good one!

  4. Happy Birthday! What a lovely piece of craftmanship!

    You know, you share the same birthday with G. K. Chesterton…he’s 134 yesterday.

  5. Happy Birthday indeed! Those are the best kinds of gifts, don’t you think? The love put in to it is worth way more than anything that is costly. Priceless, absolutely priceless.

  6. Arti — yes, I was just on your site and saw that. Hadn’t known. Cool!!

    T-bird — yup. Priceless. I feel very blessed. Such a thoughtful gift. Ah, but raises the stakes for HIS birthday, coming up in a little over a week. Yikes!

  7. That is an amazingly thoughtful gift. Thanks for sharing.

  8. Thank for stopping by, Kitty. Yes, my husband is certainly thoughtful. I’m a lucky ducky, I say!

  9. A fantastically loving and thoughtful gift from a super- husband. But I know you are also every bit the special partner must truly deserve.

    To many, many more happy returns of the day. Wishing you all the lovely flowers and blessings from the “garden”.

    Take care

  10. Happy belated birthday, WGB- & what a wonderful gift from your husband.

  11. Thanks, Katie! The gift is a truly beautiful piece of art, as well as incredibly thoughtful. I like it’s simplicity and the loveliness of the silver.

  12. And thanks to you, Bong, as well! I hope you and Sam have a good week.

  13. Happy Belated Birthday!
    Wow what a lovely gift and guy! Congrats on both. May you have a peaceful and rewarding year.
    Jennifer
    aka Montessori Mama

  14. Thanks, Jennifer!

Leave a Reply

