New Milestone for the BLog

I never would have thunk it…but I love blogging! Didn’t think I’d dig the “virtual” relationships stuff. Thought the idea of there being any real community on-line was bunk. Assumed that since blogging had to do with technology, I’d be terrible at it and give it up after a couple of weeks. Wrong. Wrong. Wrong.

And today I am celebrating passing the ten thousand views of my blog milestone. While I know many of my bloggin pals have long since passed this piddly little readership, I think this is pretty extraordinary for me, especially when one considers my spotty posting and my less than frequent jaunts surfing and commenting on other sites. Oh, yeh, and I just recently figured out that all those times I commented, my URL was not appearing as a link to my name. My goodness! It’s a wonder anyone ever found my site!!

Remarkably, I have found a community of sorts on the web. I read a select few blogs (see my blogroll, please!!) every week with interest. I follow other people’s lives. I’ve made real friends. I care about what’s happening to people I’ve never actually met.

This blog has been one of the nicest parts of my sabbatical year. I sure hope I can keep it up once I get back int he classroom.

For now, thank you everyone for making this such a great experience!

7 Responses

  1. Congratulations on your milestone…I’ve enjoyed visiting your blog and I too like you have found my life enriched by blogging. Keep up the good work!

  2. Congratulations. I think you’ve really gotten the hang of this the past few months. I always appreciate reading what you write here and as always am grateful of your comments on my site!

    Paul

  3. Thanks, guys! I know many people get that many hits in just a week, but it’s pretty good for my speed! I appreciate your stopping by and commenting so frequently. Take care!

  4. congrats on the 10k milestone and I’m glad you decided to stick with it.

    I think of blogging as my word gym. It gets me in the mood for writing and warms me up. It’s great for meeting other writers as well.

  5. Hi, Kitty,

    Yeh, I think of blogging as storing up the rough drafts for later essays…. Nice warm up for writing, too, as you suggest, and, heh, maybe at some point I’ll actually use this stuff again.

    Thanks for stopping by!

  6. Congratulations!!! I feel the same way you do; blogging has almost turned into a gift. Here’s to the next 10000!

  7. Thanks, Ginny!

Leave a Reply

