Dog Idolatry

Please do not be offended. It’s not my fault that idolatry is tolerated in my home. I am certainly not guilty of it! My son isn’t doing it. My husband isn’t…well..isn’t doing it, per se, though he is the object of devotion, a household god of sorts.

Our dog, as I think I’ve mentioned before, adores my husband. Adores might not be the right word, if you get my drift. Really she worships him.

This summer the hubster has been taking two on-line classes in preparation for launching a new career in IT. And right now it’s final exam time. So hubbie is locked away in the den working on his C Programming final. The dog is not happy…

Prostrate before the almighty, she offers herself, a living sacrifice. “Take me, oh, take me, alpha dog,” she cries. Sigh. Double sigh. “When is he coming out of there?”

I took this picture with my cell phone and sent it to my husband, thinking he’d get a kick out of it later. Turns out he had his phone with him in the den. As soon as he saw what was waiting for him on the other side of the door, he got up and greeted his loyal devotee, who was beside herself with joy. “Ah, let me nibble your ear, O Wise One! You have emerged from the great beyond at last!”

Is it any wonder she continues with such encouragement? My husband is a marshmallow. 🙂

4 Responses

  1. Marshmallow husbands come with soft hearts and lots to hug.

    Thanks for sharing the cute photo of the beloved “bootlicker”.

    Have a good week ahead.

  2. Ah, yes, I wouldn’t trade in my husband for a man of steel for anything!

    Take care!

  3. Ah.. C Programming. It’s like Latin: a pretty good language that won’t go away, no matter how many times people say it’s dead.

  4. Well, it’s greek to me!!!!! Hardy har har. 🙂

Leave a Reply

