In Sickness and in Health…

The hubster and boy have been wicked sick with some nausea virus for the last few days.  So far I’ve avoided it.  I am just far too busy to get sick.  My defenses are up and my armies of antibodies are on high alert.  After all, next week I go back to the classroom! 🙂

In any case, they are sick and I am taking care of them.  I’m also trying to do all those extras to help me to stay well.  Incessant hand washing. Extra zinc vitamin pill last night.  Emergen-C drink yesterday.  Water.  Peaches. Pesto.  (Yeh, right, you say. Is pesto a miracle cure?  I don’t know, but I had made some over the weekend, so I’ve been eating it this week. Hard to cook for one and pesto on some leftover noodles or bread — whole grain, of course — is yummy and easy.  Especially when the sight of most food makes my family want to, well, you know ….)

Anyway, I’ve been wondering what other folks do to try to stay well.  Any teachers out there?  What do you do to stave off the creepin cruds?  Folks with small children?  How do you stay healthy in the face of so many bodily fluids in your parental presence? For that matter, how do you stay SANE?

Sorry I have nothing more to say today.  My armies of white blood cells are on the move, and I’ve gotta keep movin, keep movin, keep movin. Left… right… left, right, left.

6 Responses

  1. Well, I don’t stay healthy, so I can’t answer that. I don’t know how my wife stays healthier than me. Maybe because she’s more attentive to “germs” than I am. I still go by the five second rule.

    I hope your boys feel better soon. I had two bouts with that in the past year and both made me feel crappy for a week.

  2. Thanks, Paul. Yeh, I’m beginning to wonder if mom’s are just not allowed to get sick as often…. not to be sexist, I hope, but it just seems this is the case….

    They are heading up to five days now, so maybe it’s almost over. My husband went to work today at last. Says, “I am choosing to say that I am NOT sick anymore.” Then he makes a funny face. 🙂

  3. My dear Strugglingwriter,

    It’s funny that thoughout the world the same thing happens over and over again. My both kids got sick the same way early August. One after another, of course. I don’t know whether I should feel lucky that it doesn’t happen at the same time. One week my little girl, the second week – the boy. So, you are sure to spend two entire weeks taking care of them… Without sleeping, eating properly etc. The only thing that cheers me up is knowing that it WILL be over soon and I WILL see smiles on their faces and hear their laughter again. it’s not that easy to be a mother. But it’s such a joy (most of the time).
    BON COURAGE for your classes next week.

  4. Hi, Tania,

    I’m so sorry that your darlings have been ill. How annoying and upsetting for everyone! I used to hate it when my guy was sick when he was little. It is so much more difficult for them to understand at that age that a cold or flu will pass. And it’s so exhausting caring for sick children, too.

    Thanks for the good luck wishes for next week. I need “courage” indeed, my friend!

    (P.S. Struggling Writer is a guy named Paul who has a terrific blog I often read and which is listed on my blogroll. But he is not me: writinggb. You see, I don’t use my name on this site for privacy, but I do use grandma’s picture on my avatar. You’ll recognize her familiar face.)

    Anyway, thanks for the comment and bon courage with the babies. 🙂

  5. (I wrote this once, but it may have gone to your spam que. I put in a link. sorry)

    Anyway, hope your household is starting to feel a little better by now. I used to feel the same way you did when the kids were little about explaining what they were going thru would end. (Not sure how comforting that would be to them anyway, really).

    I don’t get sick very often either. I think it has a little to do with “mind over matter”. I just don’t have “time” to get sick. I am vigilant about my vitamins and supplements also.

  6. Honestly, I agree that mind over matter can have an affect. Not always, of course! But it does seem to make a difference what one is thinking…

Leave a Reply

