Blog Miscellany: Who is Reading My Blog?

Periodically, I take a closer look on my blog dashboard to see who is reading my blog, at least to see what search terms people used to find me, that is.  In the last couple of days, these are a few of the terms that showed up:

grieving words of wisdom
length of the pan am highway
swedish word for just right not to much
how to write a christmas letter
husband takes me for granted
birthday alone
fun writing assignments for kids
rats in a rented house
benjamin moore lilly pad
peruvian pig
thank you notes for thinking of me
rommegrot
bilbo baggins chip the plates

You know, when I started this blog, I fully intended it to be a blog specializing in writing.  That’s why I called it Writing Grandma’s Book.  But it’s become such a mishmash, or as one Victorian periodical was called, a Miscellany.  I guess I’m okay with that fact.  It wasn’t where I thought I was headed, but I’m happy with the journey.

But what a strange mixture. Scandinavian-American recipes and Peruvian mountain village vignettes.  Advice on writing Christmas letters and thank you notes.  Words of grief and joy. Then there are the posts when I do not have anything particularly important or interesting to share — like today — but I put my little note out there to readers anyway.  Maybe next week, I’ll see a searcher looking for “miscellany.”

P.S.  Dear reader who had to spend your birthday alone, sorry about that!  Hope it turned out nice anyway.

P.P.S.  Dear reader whose husband takes you for granted, sorry about that, too. And sorry my blog probably didn’t particulary help you in your quest for a solution.  When I used to feel like that, it was awful.  It took some real heart to heart communication for a long while to help my husband and me to get beyond that pattern, but things have improved a lot.  I wish you good luck!

4 Responses

  1. HI Grandma,
    I find your blog to be particularily good reading. I really enjoy it and have been subscribing to it for a little while. Please keep up the good work.
    Regards,
    -Sharon

  2. Thanks, Sharon! It’s nice to know some people are enjoying the blog. I’ve certainly had a good time writing it!

    Have a good weekend. 🙂

  3. I enjoy reading your writing a lot also. I only check in on you every few days, but then it seems I read everything I missed! Boy, people found your blog from some really (what seemed to me) odd searches. I thought that was pretty interesting.

  4. Yeh, I am always surprised about the diversity of topics for which readers are searching. Pretty cool! I always appreciate your stopping by, ladyb.

Leave a Reply

