Back to School: Has it really been twenty years???

Yeh. It has. It’s been 20 years. I first stepped foot in a college classroom as an instructor in 1988, as a first-semester TA at California State University Sacramento, where I was studying for my MA in English. I didn’t actually throw up that day, but I almost did. Made it all the way to the bathroom but ran into a prof. there. Couldn’t let myself throw up in front of her. So I sucked it up and went back into the hall and continued to my room.

That was a crappy semester. (Yeh, I’ll bet you thought I was going to say it all got much better after that first day! Honestly, it was a very painful introduction o the profession. They ate me alive.)

Second semester teaching was a world apart. I was so much more relaxed and confident. Whew!

Here I am now after a year break from teaching, back in the classroom again. First class I felt like throwing up. Surprised myself! But I was feeling much more comfortable by class #2 and fully back in the swing of things by class #3.

So I’m off and running. NOT at all able to follow my proposed schedule yet, but it’s the first week and there are all sorts of “fires” to put out (like the bookstore ordering the wrong book for one of my classes — of course a book the students need to read for Monday’s assignment!) I’m NOT supposed to be blogging right now. Instead, I should be asleep. I’m going to go take care of that right now!

P.S. They put AC in the room where I teach…and a beautiful new AV system with LCD projector. They remodeled the whole floor of the building. I feel like I’ve come back to a different school!

5 Responses

  1. Congrats on your 20th anniversary! Your students are lucky to have you.

  2. Congrats on the AC and new projector 🙂

    I bet it felt good and weird to be back.

  3. Ginny: Thanks. Feels like I’m lucky to have them. 🙂 They are a nice bunch this fall.

    Paul: Yes. Good AND weird — that’s right. But I’m getting used to it again pretty quickly.

  4. Congrats on the twenty years and glad you are all good after just three days back.

    I’ve always had a special respect for teachers. You rock!

  5. Thanks, Kitty. Not maybe “all good”… LOL I’m working on it, though. 🙂

Leave a Reply

