Lefse season fast approaching

Ah, the crispness in the air 9we’ll hit a low in the 20s tonight), the wind swaying the bare branches of the trees, the red and green decorations appearing in the stores…yes, it’s … lefse time!  HUH?

For those of you uninitiated ones, lefse is just the most delicious treat ever, that’s all.  I’ve already posted a number of times on lefse, so I won’t repeat. You can click on the tab above to see those posts.

But I will add something new.  Someone recently searched my site with the terms, “making lefse large batch.”  So I wanted to give some advice on this topic.  I don’t know just HOW large a batch this person has in mind, but I’ve made a hundred lefse before, and that’s a lot for one person.

Do not cut corners on the mashing part, i.e., I always recommend ricing the potatoes to avoid lumps.  You can’t roll out a piece of potato lefse dough if there are hunks of potatoes left in it.  Maybe if you have a LOT of lefse to make, you could run the potatoes through a food mill, like you would applesauce — just make sure you leave no lumps.  Effort on this front pays off in the end.

Also, do NOT add all of the flour to the cold mashed potatoes at once.  Yuck!  It gets too sticky if it sits for a while.  Only add flour to maybe 2 or 3 cups of potatoes at a time, mix, and then roll out the individual circles of lefse.  Then repeat until finished. This will keep you from making too sticky a dough and then having to add too much flour.

When people tell me that they have had potato lefse and thought it was too heavy, I always think that the problem is the potatoes are not properly whipped and too much flour was added.  If you make it right, potato lefse is tender and moist.  That’s what Grandma taught me, and I’ve found it to be true as I’ve taken over the lefse-making in my family.

Ah, now I’m hungry.  Darn.

5 Responses

  1. We were below 32 degrees this morning. Ugh.

    By the way how do you pronounce lefse. Leff-see?

  2. It’s pronounced LEFF – suh. Kinda rhymes with uff-da. 🙂 (Midwesterners will get the joke right away but since you live in PA, that’s a silly Norwegian-American phrase for “aw, shucks.”

  3. Thanks for the recipe. I will try this and let you know how it came out.

    I don’t own a ricer, so I have to go get one of those.

  4. I’m toying with the idea of using whole wheat flour to make lefse this year. We’ve been trying to eat whole grain everything lately and boost the fiber content. It may be a terrible mistake… we’ll see.

  5. There’s a brand of whole wheat flour that is extremely lightweight. I think it is King Arthur’s flour. I would try something like that as a substitute since it will be more like the texture of white flour. If you do it, please let me know how it comes out!

Leave a Reply

