Why my son is sad… :-)

“I’m sad, Mommy.” (Yes, he still calls me mommy though he has now turned eleven.  For a while he wanted to change to mom and I said fine, but it was too hard for him to make the shift, I guess.)

“I’m sad, Mommy. I’m going to have to wear glasses and have braces and… be BALD!”

Sweet little guy.  “Not all at the same time, honey.”  Yeh, like that helped.

Bubby is myopic, it turns out.  We bought his glasses on Tuesday night and will pick them up Friday after school.  It will be an adjustment.  They are nice glasses, dark blue rims with open bottom, Ray Bans, featherweight lenses.  But it will be strange to see him with glasses on all the time.  I suppose we will all get used to it.

The braces, well that’s not until next year, says the orthodontist.  Have to correct an overbite.  No big deal.  He has told me that he wants orange braces.  Hmmm.  That sounds pretty gross.  And it’ll clash with the blue glasses, won’t it?

As for the baldness, we were chatting along one day and me an my big mouth — I mentioned that baldness is actually passed down through the mother’s father.  My dad hasn’t had much hair since he was…hmmm…when did he start losing it, exactly.  Ah, well, bald is beautiful.

My son has the loveliest face and beautiful blue eyes, and he is tall and strong and has a killer smile.  I know he has nothing to worry about.  But he has become a tweener and suddenly these things matter. On the other hand…

Yesterday he told me he was “really excited” about getting his glasses.  He’s sure a trooper!

7 Responses

  1. Cute post. 🙂

    I’m going to let my soon to be born son grow his hair as long as he want to because he might as well enjoy it before the, well, inevitable. 🙂

  2. Yeh, it’s good to have that phase once at least!

  3. Awww. This is such a rough age.

    My teenagers still call me mommy every once in a while. When they want something.

  4. Well, he’s walking around VERY happy tonight. He keeps taking the glasses on and off and raving about how COOL it is to be able to see!!! I’m horrified that I didn’t figure this out sooner. Bad mommy. Bad mommy.

  5. This is so sweet. My 23 yr. old still calls me Mommy, like a term of endearment. It throws me a little, even after all these years, but I love it.

    My son needs glasses. Finally got them in high school, but his vanity won’t let him wear them. It’s a shame too, because he looks good in them. Tried the contacts, but he couldn’t get used to that. Now I have no more control, so he doesn’t wear either. LOL

  6. PS
    You are Not a bad mommy. I didn’t find out about my son needing glasses till they tested him in school. I don’t think they realize there’s something not right enough to tell us.

  7. Yeh, I know. And it’s not as if he were doing poorly in school or anything. Smart kid was getting around the sight issue with no big deficiencies. Thanks for the encouragement.

Leave a Reply

