Holady Shopping… Typos Matter, Even at Christmas

I am NOT the grammar police, okay?  But, honestly, sometimes I can’t help but draw attention to signage errors.  I mean, I’d want to know!   I live by that Do Unto Others credo, so shoot me.

I was at the mall this weekend buying a few last Christmas gifts, when I was surprised to see a See’s Candy shop.  Where the heck did that come from, I wondered.  I am quite certain it wasn’t there last time I visited the mall.

I hustled over to the store, though, to pick up a couple of boxs of nuts and chews and assorted chocolates.  Sees is not only delicious candy, but it brings back lovely memories of my grandma.  The company began right there in Sacramento, California, near my grandma’s house, in fact.  I am delighted that the company has done so well that it now has a store in the Pheasant Lane Mall in Nashua, New Hampshire.  Go figure!

But as I was reading the description of one of their items to see which candies the box included, my eyes bugged out at this typo.  Can you SEE it?

12130812201

How appetizing!  Just what I want to buy for my son’s stocking: a box with six soiled choco balls.  Mmm! Delicious!  Sample anyone? 🙂

I hesitated but then thought, goodness, this has to be fixed.  Or at least laughed at.  So I showed it to the two sales ladies, making it perfectly clear that this was, no doubt, NOT their fault.

Clerk One: “Yes.  Uh huh….  So you’re a teacher?”

Me: “Well, yeh. Er, I am. Ha ha.” 🙂

Clerk One: “And you teach…?”

Me: “English.  Sorry.  Typos just have this way of jumping right off the page at me, especially this time of year when I am grading so many student papers.  I can’t help it.”

Clerk Two: “Where do you teach your classes?”

Me: “At the University.”

Clerk Two: “I want to take an English class.  I need to learn English.”

Me: “Well, there’s community colleges.  They offer such classes.”

Clerk Two: “What I really want is a tutor, just someone to sit down with me and help me understand better.”

Me: “Our local library has such a thing — literacy tutoring run by volunteers.  You should see if your town has that.”

After the Clerk One lady rang up my purchase, she slipped three butterscoth lollipops into my bag and smiled. I guess she didn’t mind my pointing out the typo after all.  Still, someone should fix that sign.  Made me think I should carry around white out and a black marker.

Has anyone heard of that guy who goes around, on purpose to fix people’s typos? Now THAT’S annoying!

5 Responses

  1. Drives me nuts, too. I actually voted against a candidate in the last election because he sent out a flyer touting his involvement in the “Aids Walk”. Dude, if you can’t even get AIDS right, I’m not putting you in any position of power. (But thanks for resisting the urge to liquid paper the sign. You don’t want to be that girl.)

  2. I didn’t notice soild until you pointed it out. LOL.
    Now the chocolate balls are all ruined.

  3. Ginny and Kitty: My two favorite gals! I love your blogs. Thanks for stopping by this morning. I’m home with a sick kid, again. I’m also procrastinating starting to grade that huge stack of final papers. Ugh.

    Ginny, I’m glad you think typos matter enough to vote on that basis. Now THAT’S an English teacher’s dream!

    Kitty, yes, and what does it say about me that I BOUGHT those soild candies anyway?? 🙂

  4. Nice typo in the subject 🙂

    I usually just shudder at typos. Or laugh at them.

  5. Yeh, I used to think it was funny, but around this time of year when I am grading mounds of student papers, the typos get pretty irritating. 🙂

Leave a Reply

