It’s beginning to look a lot like … Finals

Funny how the mind works.  I’ve had that darned Christmas song, “It’s Beginning to Look a Lot Like Christmas” running through my head for the last few days.  It’s a constant refrain ever since it snowed.  Ugh.

Christmas is, I admit it, probably my favorite holiday in the whole year.  Too bad every year I also have a ton of work to do right before the holiday.  As an English teacher, I end up with mounds of final portfolios (each one including  final versions of all of the students’ papers from the whole semester plus their original drafts to show improvement and an extensive cover letter assessing their work).  Whew!  Makes me tired just summarizing it.  Here is a picture of my current semester’s stack, guarded by our faithful pooch, Maggie, until I can get around to that important work…

1218080841

So, yeh, why am I not grading those papers right now, then…? Just taking a breather, folks, having  finished grading on-line assignments for a different class, I haven’t yet gone on to the next task.  Busy, busy, busy!  Ah, but lucky, too.  I like seeing the improvement of the students’ work at the end (usually there IS growth).  Makes me feel like it was worth it or some such nonsense!  🙂

7 Responses

  1. Yay Maggie picture! So cute.

    Good luck with the grading. I’m sure that isn’t any fun.

    Paul

  2. Just time-consuming, but generally it IS fun, in a way. I really do like to see the students’ work (when they have learned). It brings closure to the semester for me and reaffirms my calling as a teacher and all that. 🙂

  3. *Great* photo! I will have a ton of work to do this Winter Break, too. I guess it will give me something to do!

    Thanks for adding me to your blogroll!! 🙂

  4. I enjoy your site! Thanks for stopping by. 🙂

  5. I really admire teachers. I don’t know how you manage to do it all.

    I hope you got a lot of nice gifts from your students.

  6. Gifts?? LOL You’re kidding, right?

    On the fifth day of Christmas … I got five incompletes, four frantic phone calls, three make-up exams, two plagiarized papers, and a single “thanks prof” in a misspelled email. 🙂

    By the time they enter university, the kids don’t think to give gifts to teachers, and parents have ceased to be involved in such things. Ah, well. The greatest gift they could give me, in any case, is to follow my directions for the final portfolio, and some of them actually DID, so I’m satisfied….

    Chocolates woulda been nice, though!

  7. I forgot you have college students. No they’re not likely to use their beer money on the professor.

    You still deserve at least some chocolate.

Leave a Reply

