UU-what?

I have mentioned before in this blog that I attend a Unitarian Universalist church.  Since the reaction of people in person to such information is usually a puzzled look on their faces, I thought I’d post about this topic here.

Recently I came across the following video.  I thought it was nicely done and pretty much says what I would want to say but with more aplomb (and humor).   So…if you are curious and have a few minutes, why not learn a little about the fifth most popular religion in the U.S.?

So there you have it.

I would just add that I feel much like the people in this video, namely that finding this denomination had been a real blessing, that I look around at my fellow parishioners in my congregation and feel privileged to be in the same community with them, that I feel truly welcome and free to exercise my intellect in church.  It’s a good fit for me and my family.

3 Responses

  1. I have never heard of this religion, thanks for posting this.

    I like the concepts and honestly, behind closed doors, almost every Catholic I know thinks this way. I guess a lot of them really like the community they were born in and they just stick with their church to stay with that community.
    Church really is a social network, I think. LOL.

    I like the rituals of my religion, the incense burning, the candles, communion. The crazy kneeling, standing, sitting thing. It makes me feel at home or something.
    But I haven’t been there in years.

  2. Yeh, I grew up Lutheran, and I sometimes miss the liturgy. I always enjoyed the call and response in song aspect. So I think I understand a little of how you feel about your own church.

    Funny what you say about Catholics, though…. A great many of our UUs are actually, what do folks call it — lapsed Catholics.

  3. I wasn’t surprised at all when they cracked open Mother Theresa’s journal and found out she had her doubts, that she used the church as a vehicle to accomplish that enormous task of hers.

Leave a Reply

