let it snow…but forget these temps

Here in New England, in case folks don’t know, we are “enjoying” quite a lot of winter weather these days.  It IS winter, you say?  Yeh, well, tomorrow night  we are supposed to reach a low of negative four degrees (that’s -20 Celcius).  Brrr.

I don’t mind the snow (truth be told, I love it), but those temperatures are outrageous.  I distinctly do NOT like it when the inside of my nose freezes as I breathe in.  Yikes.  Of course it thaws as I breathe out, … but still!

My son doesn’t seem to mind as much as me.  He went out this week when it was in the teens and icy as all get out.  To sled.  Yes, sledding — his great passion.  Our yard has a tiny little hill, but that’s enough for him.  Then again, if he goes out into the new snow, he has to do a bit of shoveling…

1231081208

Oh, and we HAVE taken the tree down now.  (I say “we” in the loosest sense of the word, since it was ME doing the taking down at midnight the Saturday after New Years).  This picture is just slightly behind the curve.  The holidays ARE over.  My son is back to school.  I go back in a week and a half.  I’m SOOOOO not ready for THAT!

6 Responses

  1. Yep. Very cold here as well. In your son’s defense, it probably feels warmer while “sledding”. Sledding is hard work after all 🙂

  2. Oh, yeh, he always comes back in drenched in sweat!

  3. I hear you. We have about 4 feet of snow on the ground, and it’s been around -20 celsius all week. The weather dudes are promising above freezing temps by the week. But everyone knows what compulsive liars those guys are.

  4. Yeh, YOU GUYS are sending us those Thursday temps. Hey, thanks a bunch! 🙂

  5. That’s what I’d be doing, sledding.

    Love the photo.

  6. Yeh, I thought about joining him in the sledding adventure, but I’ve been sick for a month with a wracking cough. Ugh! Finally breaking down and going to the doctor today. Maybe I’ll be sledding soon…! 🙂

Leave a Reply

