dragonhunter in my head

Recently, we moved my son’s cello out of his room and into the living room (since we had put a humidifier in his bedroom).  Crazy winter weather, dry air, lots of cold viruses — you get the picture.  So now I get to hear my son practice up close and personal!

At least it isn’t the violin.  Eeek.  No offense, but the sound of a kid practicing violin can send me to the liquor cabinet.

Anyway, so he’s been practicing a lot for their concert, one of only two concerts for the entire year.  He belongs to a city-wide children’s orchestra called the String Project.  It’s run by the University where I work.  Great program that enables inner-city kids (who would otherwise never have the opportunity) to play a stringed instrument.  The program offers instruments to rent and tuition for the program at rock-bottom prices.

One of the songs that he’s been playing, though, has taken over my brain.  It is called “Dragonhunter” and I find the music compelling and suspenseful, especially now that our son is mastering the piano/forte contrast stuff.  I wish I could give you a sense through words of the song, but its hopeless.  😦

But I do have a picture to show you of the ensemble on stage at last Sunday’s concert.  The house was almost packed (empty seats up front are for the kids), and the children did a wonderful job.

0125091522

I have to admit that right before they played “Dragonhunter,” I turned to my husband and said, “Don’t expect too much….”  I wasn’t being mean or anything.  Honest.  But every single rehearsal when I went to pick up Bubby, I listened to them rehearse that song, and it was not exactly a stellar performance, if you know what I mean.  The conductor once told them that the part when they pluck instead of bow sounded like raindrops.  And that wasn’t a compliment.

But they totally rocked the dragonhunter.  Who knew that they could do that?  What changed from the last rehearsal to the concert when playing the song?  I have no idea, but I clapped enthusiastically at the end and shouted “Bravo!”

5 Responses

  1. I love those surprise performances. I had the same experience at Carson’s Christmas concert. He’d been moaning about how bad the freshman band was but I found their performance enjoyable. Maybe it helps to go with low expectations. (I found out later they pulled in some upper-class sandbaggers.)

  2. Ah, yes, the additional bodies can be the tipping point. Maybe Boo’s ensemble had some help, too! I’m sure low expectations are a good idea when it comes to kids’ concerts! 🙂

  3. That’s cool. It’s amazing how kids can pull it together for “game time”.

    I played trumpet in school and wish now I took it more seriously. I was good compared to most everybody else. Still, what if I would have tried?

  4. My son and oldest daughter play the violin. My youngest plays the cello. I found the cello practice much harder on my ears in the beginning although I prefer the sound of it now.

    Here’s a link to Dragonhunter:

    [audio src="http://65.23.157.59/mp3/33965.mp3" /]

  5. Thanks for the link, but I’m trying to get the song OUT of my head not more firmly planted!! LOL, just kidding!

Leave a Reply

